Medical Forum
This not an emergency service, in case of a diving incident, please contact your local Coastguard, nearest recompression chamber or emergency services.

All questions are answered by Dr Oliver Firth, one of the doctors at the London Diving Chamber. Dr Firth has had a wide variety of experience as a doctor in both the UK and Australia. He writes regularly for ‘Sport Diver’ Magazine and gives talk on hyperbaric medicine.

Because of the confidential and sensitive nature of advice given in the medical forum, questions DO NOT post direct to the forum page but are sent to the doctor for his comment and reply. Once a reply has been sent, both the question and answer will post to the forum page.

Questions are shown in Red and the answer from Dr Firth is shown in Blue. Once an answer is posted, it is then possible for other users to post additional comments, these are shown in black.

New Question      
topics
Replies
Views
Last Post
Question - Dear Dr. Flirth, I'm new in diving and did 8 dives within 18m depth. I feel congestion in my left ear after each dive and a pain after the 8th ...
6 January Wednesday, 5:04 AM
Question - Offshore medical
I have the hse diver medical and i'm doing my offshore survival shortly and I'm wondering do I need a seperate offshore medical before I can work ...
4 January Monday, 3:30 PM
Question - Dear Doctor Firth Would a reapired inguinal hernia that was treated at 6 months prevent me from taking a PADI Open Water Course? Would this be ...
19 November Thursday, 7:14 AM
Question - Hello. Can your GP sign your medical form for diving course, I am just starting but have some medical conditions which I feel my GP would have all ...
Have Polycystic kidneys, no current problems, kidney function and other tests OK, it is a hereditary disease in which some in my family show sympt ...
6 October Tuesday, 4:58 PM